What Are Different the Classes of Forklifts?

May 1, 2022 12:00 am Published by Leave your thoughts

Buying a forklift is a necessary investment for most construction companies worldwide. These heavy machinery items play critical roles in ensuring that various construction tasks are handled smoothly. However, before you visit a forklift dealer, you need to understand the different classes of forklifts. 

Class 1: Electric Motor Rider Trucks

Electric motor rider trucks are the first class of forklifts. They are similar to the electric golf carts you see around golf courses. Nevertheless, they have a much higher load capacity than golf carts. The power source for these kinds of trucks is electricity, and they are best used indoors since they don’t produce emissions. You can use them to lift and move loads that are between 3,000 and 15,000 pounds. 

Class 2: Electric Motor Narrow Aisle Trucks

Electric motor narrow aisle trucks constitute the second forklift class available in the market. As you can deduce from the name, these trucks are designed to operate in narrow aisle conditions. Their aisles should not be more than six feet wide. These trucks are powered by electricity, and they, too, don’t produce emissions. You can use them to lift and move between 2,000- and 8,000-pound loads. 

Class 3: Electric Motor Hand Trucks or Hand/Rider Trucks

As you will discover, rider trucks are usually considered a separate class. Nevertheless, some forklift dealers might put them together with electric motor hand trucks and call the resulting category electric motor hand/rider trucks. These are unique in that they can transform from rider trucks to hand trucks. They achieve this by lowering their forks to the ground so the operator can ride on them. 

Class 4: Internal Combustion Engine Trucks

Over the years, internal combustion engine trucks have become quite popular. This is because they are very versatile, and you can use them indoors and outdoors. Internal combustion engine trucks come in various designs, such as cushion tires, pneumatic tires, and solid pneumatic tires. These trucks are powered by either gasoline or diesel. 

Class 5: Electric and Internal Combustion Engine Tractors

Electric and internal combustion engine tractors are defined as an independent class of forklifts. They are mostly used for towing purposes in the farming and construction industry. Nevertheless, you can also use them to move heavy loads from one point to another. These trucks are powered by either gasoline or diesel. 

Class 6: Rough Terrain Forklift Trucks

As the name suggests, rough terrain forklift trucks operate on rough terrains. They have special features that make them ideal for such conditions. For instance, they come with a four-wheel drive to move easily on slippery and muddy surfaces. In addition, they have wide tires that offer stability and traction. 


Before buying forklifts, you must understand the different classes of forklifts. This will help you make an informed decision that suits your specific needs. Also, you need to consult with a reputable forklift dealer to get expert advice. Contact V-Bar Equipment Company today and get the best deals on forklift sales.

Categorised in:

This post was written by admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *